justindoom

journalism matters. in phoenix.

In Uncategorized on September 12, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Paul Zimmerman, probably best known for his outstanding work at Sports Illustrated, once wrote that aside from providing for his family there was nothing in life he took more seriously than selecting his NFL All-Pro team. Every season, in addition to hundreds of interviews with players and coaches and scouts and front-office execs, he would watch and take notes on literally every play of every game. He’d grade and categorize players. He worked independently and fearlessly. And he wasn’t shy about sharing his conclusions.

I feel the same way about journalism.

Bad journalism makes me at least as angry as good journalism makes me happy. And other than the well being of my friends and family, there isn’t anything I consider more important than solid, thorough, transparent reporting.

Speaking of transparency: Look: I’m no sage. I’m not an expert. In ten-plus years of media experience, I’ve made my fair share of mistakes, most of which, I hope, I’ve learned from. There’s always something else to learn. That’s one of the reasons journalists becomes journalists: We like learning things. We’re nerds. But we’re social nerds, because what’s the fun in learning new information you can’t share?

For the purposes of this blog, I’m going to try and learn as much as I can from as many other journalists as I can, particularly their thoughts on Phoenix media—what’s good, what’s bad, what can be improved, what’s hopelessly beyond improvement and how we can improve public trust in what we do. Which newspapers and magazines still matter? Which local writers should more people be reading? What issues are undercovered or overcovered? Which socioeconomic groups are too often ignored? Can local TV news actually get worse?

I have my own thoughts on a lot of these questions. And on a lot of other questions.

I’m really looking forward to hearing what everyone else has to say.

Leave a Reply

